Our team

Our small but dedicated team is made up of people from diverse fields, including media, research and the law.

Lynne Haultain

Lynne Haultain

Executive Director

Lynne leads the Victoria Law Foundation team. She brings with her a wealth of experience in the fields of communications, journalism and management. For 16 years, she worked with ABC Radio, including a stint hosting The Law Report on Radio National. She has also worked at the ACCC, the City of Melbourne, the Victorian Ombudsman and as a consultant. She has degrees in Law and English from the University of Western Australia and holds qualifications from the Australian Institute of Company Directors, the Institute of Community Directors Australia and has attended the Cranlana Centre for Ethical Leadership.

Professor Nigel J. Balmer

Research Director

As the head of the Foundation’s research team, Nigel oversees our research projects. He has over twenty years’ experience conducting empirical research. His prior work has focused on the role of law in everyday life, public understanding of the law, attitudes to justice, the design of legal services and more. In addition to his role at Victoria Law Foundation, Nigel is also Professor of Law and Social Statistics at University College London.

Kate Sedgwick

Education and Events Director

As the head of the VLF’s education and events team, Kate oversees the myriad of education and event activities offered by the VLF. With over 8 years of practical experience working as a litigation solicitor for Australia’s leading social justice law firm and several years working in education and events at one of the world’s top-ranking law schools, UNSW Law, Kate relishes the responsibility of successfully delivering the VLF's events program to the community and legal sector.  As someone who was inspired to pursue a career in the law after attending a regional VLF event as a high school student, Kate feels privileged to now be able to oversee and provide strategic support for the schools programs offered by the VLF.



Cristina Gutierrez, PA to the Executive Director and Office Manager

Cherry Tunnock, Administration Officer

Fereshteh Homayoun, Executive Projects Officer


Leon Meyer, Communications Manager

Jackie Matthews, Communications Coordinator


Prof Nigel J. Balmer, Research Director

Dr Hugh M. McDonald, Principal Researcher

Dr Jozica Kutin, Senior Researcher

Tenielle Hagland, Research Coordinator

Alex Partington, Research Coordinator

Clare Kennedy, Research Communications

Education and events

Kate Sedgwick, Education and Events Director

Community and corporate events

Helen Papadimitriou, Events Coordinator

Education schools program

Fabiola Superina, Education Manager

Nikita Batch, Education Officer

David Thomson OAM, Teacher-in-Residence


Melanie Rygl, Grants Manager